Dumplin’

Image result for dumplin' book

Rating – 3/5

Julie Murphy’s Dumplin’ follows Willowdean Dickson, known as Dumplin’ to her pageant queen mother, a self proclaimed fat girl. She’s always been comfortable in her own body. That is until, she finds herself in a relationship with Bo, her hot co-worker and former private school jock. Instead of feeling even better about herself, Willowdean begins to lose her confidence and self-esteem. The only way to win back her confidence? Compete in the Miss Clover City beauty pageant to show her judgemental Texas town that she deserves the same treatment as any other girl.

This book met my expectations, which were not very high in the first place. I’m not much of a cliche insecure-girl-finds-her-confidence book person, nor am I into light-hearted, fluffy, contemporary novels as whole. So I didn’t feel much of connection to this book.  But I gave this book the rating that I did because, although I didn’t like the execution, I did like the message. Willowdean Dickson is fat, and she doesn’t take that as an insult. She also doesn’t care about people who don’t like her because of her body, because in her mind, they’re the ones missing out. This book’s body positivity is hard to find in a world full of books where the fat girl always becomes skinny in the end.

Overall, I wish this book had more action or thrill that could draw me in. But I would recommend it to readers in high school and above who enjoy light-hearted realistic fiction. This book wasn’t for me, but I can understand why people enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

