The Giver

Review- 2/5

A few weeks ago, I had to read The Giver by Lois Lowry for a book club. This was probably the only book in the entire world that I wanted to finish. And when I got to the ending, I was both relieved and utterly disappointed.

The Giver was the first book of it’s kind. The dystopian novel follows a boy named Jonas. Jonas lives in a futuristic community where everything is controlled by a council. People don’t see color, don’t have many emotions, and don’t think for themselves. Jonas thinks this is completely normal, until he is selected to become the next Receiver of Memory. He meets the Giver, who gives him some memories of the past . He discovers the secrets beyond the walls of his community, and begins to question his life as a whole.

The Giver may sound interesting, but in reality it’s badly written, has no real character development, and an overall uneventful conflict. I found that Lowry spent most of the book filling in between the introduction and the resolution. In fact, I can’t think of any rising action or conflict. And the way the entire book was written was supposed to sound thought-provoking, when in reality it just managed to bore and confuse me at the same time.

I have full respect for Lois Lowry, and I  understand why want to read this book. The Giver is a different read, and that’s why many people enjoy it. But I’m a critique. I notice more than just the main plot of a book. In short, I found The Giver to be terribly-written, uneventful, and not a book I would recommend to anyone.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

